Group Members

We are looking for new PhD students, Postdocs, and Master students to join the team (see openings) !

Staff

Prof. Dr. Hinrich Schütze

Chair of Computational Linguistics
Personal Page
email: hinrich@hotmail.com

Prof. Dr. Franz Guenthner

Professor of Computational Linguistics (retired)
Personal Page
email: gue@cis.uni-muenchen.de

Imani Ayyoob

PhD studen, started November 2020
Personal Page
email: ayyoob@cis.lmu.de

  • M.Sc. in Computer Engineering, University of Tehran, Iran
  • B.Sc. in Computer Engineering, Iran University of Science and Technology, Iran

Philipp Dufter

PhD Student, started July 2017
Personal Page
email: philipp@cis.lmu.de

  • M.Sc. Imperial College London
  • B.Sc. Technical University of Munich

Peggy Hobmaier

Secretary CIS, LMU
Personal Page
email: sekr@cis.lmu.de

Valentin Hofmann

PhD Student, started
Personal Page
email: valentin.hofmann@ling-phil.ox.ac.uk

  • MSt, University of Oxford, UK
  • MSc, LMU Munich, Germany

Haris Jabbar

PhD Student, started Dec 2020
Personal Page
email: jabbar@cis.lmu.de

  • M.Sc. (CSE) Technical University Munich
  • M.Sc. (Computer Engineering) University of Engineering & Technology, Taxila
  • B.Engg (Aerospace) NUST, Pakistan

Masoud Jalili Sabet

PhD Student, started April 2018
Personal Page
email: jalili.masoud@cis.lmu.de

  • M.Sc. University of Tehran, Iran.
  • B.Sc. Iran University of Science and Technology (IUST), Iran.

Nora Kassner

PhD Student, started November 2018
Personal Page
email: kassner@cis.lmu.de

  • M.Sc. (Physics) LMU Munich
  • B.SC. (Physics) University of Heidelberg

Sheng Liang

PhD Student, started January 2020
Personal Page
email: shengliang@cis.lmu.de

  • B.Sc. Applied Mathematics, Tongji University, China
  • M.Sc. Computer Science with Speech and Language Processing, University of Sheffield, UK

Antonis Maronikolakis

PhD Student, started January 2020.
Personal Page
email: antmarakis@cis.lmu.de

  • M.Sc, Computer Science with Speech and Language Processing, University of Sheffield, UK
  • B.Sc, University of Piraeus, Greece

Nina Poerner

Post Doctoral Researcher
Personal Page
email: poerner@cis.lmu.de

  • PhD, CIS, LMU Munich
  • M.Sc. Computational Linguistics, LMU Munich
  • M.A. Phonetics and Speech Processing, LMU Munich
  • B.A. French and Linguistics, University of Oxford

Thomas Schäfer

IT System administration
Personal Page
email: admin@cis.uni-muenchen.de

  • Dipl.-Ing. (FH)

Timo Schick

PhD Student, started
Personal Page
email: schickt@cis.lmu.de

  • M.Sc. TU Dresden, Germany
  • B.Sc. TU Dresden, Germany

Dr. Helmut Schmid


Personal Page
email: schmid@cis.uni-muenchen.de

  • Dr. phil., IMS, University of Stuttgart, Germany

Martin Schmitt

PhD Student, started October 2016
Personal Page
email: martin@cis.lmu.de

  • M.Sc. in Computer Science, FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg
  • B.A. in Computer Science and Indo-European Languages (two majors), FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg

Lütfi Kerem Şenel

PhD Student, started October 2019
Personal Page
email: lksenel@cis.lmu.de

  • M.Sc. Bilkent University, Turkey
  • B.Sc. Bilkent University, Turkey

Silvia Severini

PhD Student, started November 2019
Personal Page
email: silvia@cis.lmu.de

  • M.Sc. University of Pisa, Italy
  • B.Sc. University of Bologna, Italy

Marina Speranskaya

PhD Student, started
Personal Page
email: speranskaya@cis.lmu.de

  • B.A. Computational Linguistics, University of Heidelberg
  • M.Sc. Computational Linguistics, LMU

Victor Steinborn

PhD student, started January 2021
Personal Page
email: vsteinborn@cis.uni-muenchen.de

  • MPhys Theoretical Physics, University of Edinburgh, UK

Dietrich Trautmann

PhD Student, started
Personal Page
email: dietrich@cis.lmu.de

  • M.Sc. (TUM)

Leonie Weissweiler

PhD Student, started September 2020
Personal Page
email: weissweiler@cis.lmu.de

  • M.Sc. Computational Linguistics, LMU Munich
  • B.Sc. Computational Linguistics, LMU Munich

Axel Wisiorek

Research Assistant
Personal Page
email: wisiorek@cis.lmu.de

  • M.A. Philosophy and Logic, LMU Munich
  • B.A. Linguistics, LMU Munich
  • B.Sc. Computational Linguistics, LMU Munich

Mengjie Zhao

PhD Student, started October 2018
Personal Page
email: mengjie.zhao@cis.lmu.de

  • M.Sc. EPFL, Switzerland.
  • B.Eng (Hons), ANU, Australia.

Dr. Robert Zangenfeind


Personal Page
email: r.zangenfeind@lmu.de

  • Dr. phil., LMU Munich, Germany
  • Dipl.-Ing. (Univ.), TU Munich, Germany

This could be you !

See openings for more info
Personal Page
email: schuetze_lab@cis.lmu.de